Day 11 – A Cup of Coffee

Now I like the idea of this post, starting every section with ‘if we were having coffee right now’ is quite a quirky idea, however 1. I am not American so going out for a coffee with someone is not something I do frequently and 2. I don’t actually drink any hot drinks so this doesn’t work for me. I am going to alter this a little and instead of ‘If we were having coffee right now.’ I am going to use ‘If we were having a drink right now…’ I invite people down the pub or a bar for a catch up rather than a coffee, perhaps I am still not old enough for that catch up over a hot drink.

So if we were having a drink right now I would probably tell you all about how last night I watched the first episode of ‘Stranger Things’. I would tell you how I was impressed with it and all the hype about it has definitely been worth it because I watched episode 2 straight away and unfortunately let my writing fall to the wayside.

If we were having a drink right now I would tell you about how happy I am with my writing at the moment, how I feel that I am actually getting somewhere with it for once and how my degree doesn’t seem like a waste anymore. I feel that I am making progress, that my frequent writing is making me think more about what I am doing. Although I am posting everyday due to my prompts I feel that once this is over I should spend more time on my posts, spend more than ten minutes quickly editing them to get them posted that day. Sometimes I panic that what I have written is not good enough and then start from scratch, putting even more time pressure on myself. I love writing and I want to be good enough at it for other people to love what I write.

If we were having a drink right now I would tell you the random thought I had about the book ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar’. I thought how it isn’t a necessarily good children’s book due to the fact it encourages children to eat loads under the message that they will become beautiful if they do so. But then I just think of the caterpillar from ‘A Bugs Life’ and laugh because why wouldn’t you laugh at him?

If we were having a drink right now I would tell you about how in my life right now I am the happiest I have ever been. It isn’t a cliché but I am happy, there have been low points in my life where I thought it was going to stay that way forever but it didn’t. This is something that I wish everyone could know, that no matter how bad things get there is always the room for it to get better. There are many things that I have written about previously which are related to this but it doesn’t compare to when you finally reach a point where you can tell someone you are happy.

If we were having a drink right now, I would probably tell you about how I recently wrote a post where I had to start each section with ‘if we were having a drink right now’ and I really enjoyed writing it. It felt therapeutic in a way and I simply expressed everything that I was thinking at the time I wrote it. Perhaps it could be something I do more often as an update for what is going on with me?

If we were having a drink right now I would either be slightly tipsy and would begin to start getting over excited or I would decide that it is past my bedtime and I would call it a night. Yes, that is the kind of rollercoaster of a person that I am, it is one extreme or the other. But regardless I always turn up for the drink, I will never let you down if I can help it.

Leave a Reply

